I figured that my first post would be somewhat of an explanation of who I am, what this blog is about, and why am I doing it. So I will simply borrow from my about page.

Who Am I?

I consider myself, a marketing rookie because I have no educational business training. I originally was going to call this blog “The Marketing Rookie” but while I am relatively new to the business world, I don’t consider myself a rookie. For that matter just because, I do not have any educational business training it doesn’t mean I don’t know anything about the world of business.

What is this blog about?

Let me point out right now that there is no general theme here. I know that I am supposed to have one, but I can’t think of one universal thing to talk about so I am just going to BLOG and let the theme work itself out. Most of the time I will just comment on interesting, bizarre, and really stupid things that I encounter online, in the news, in advertising, commercials, the entertainment industry, sports world, etc. as they pertain to marketing. Let’s see how it goes.

Why this blog?

While I do not have an MBA from Harvard, I consider myself trained as I have read a lot of relevant business books and I am a devout follower of some of the best business related bloggers in the world, i.e. Seth Godin, David Meerman Scott, Scott Adams, Chip and Dan Heath, Doc Searls, Kathy Sierra, Debbie Weil, Ben McConnel and Jackie Huba, etc. They are my professors, and their books are my text books (only much cheaper!). The list can go on and on. I think I’ve learned alot from these people and really enjoy reading their books and blogs. I am grateful that these people have been willing to share their thoughts and ideas with me through blogging.

Since I spend so much time reading these types of blogs, I decided, “Hey, why don’t I just create my own business blog?”

Well, I procrastinated forever, convinced myself I couldn’t do it and that it was a waste of time, but finally came to the conclusion that I would try it anyway. So here it is, for all to read.

Hey, and just because I am rookie (and no MBA), it doesn’t mean I can’t be any good at this. Did anyone see Adrian Peterson of the Vikings this past week against the Bears?

Anyway, who knows? Maybe I will come up with some new idea or philosophy and end up having an E-book posted on ChangeThis.

For now, the only way I can filter people away, is if you are looking to read the insights of a person with an MBA, you’ve come to the wrong place, because I don’t have one.

